Premium Research Databases

About: Books

Search for author, title, subject... anything about books

Academic Search Premier

Need an article from a peer reviewed journal? Click here for the world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database with full text articles from 4,500 journals.

Accelerated Reader Lists

Need to find out what titles are included in your school's Accelerated Reader Program? Click here to review the Accelerated Reading lists we currently have available.

Artemis Literary Criticism Resources

Attention students. Have a literary criticism assignment? Click here to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, author biographical information, plus analysis and interpretation of literary works from around the world, all available online and free of charge!

Bibliographies

Click here to view selected bibliographies on frequently requested topics.

Biography Reference Bank

Offering the in-depth, original profiles of Current Biography and World Authors series, the thorough periodical coverage of Biography Index, and the specialist biographical content of Junior Authors & Illustrators, this database contains biographical full-text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals—providing the most current coverage of an individual’s life and work.

BookFLIX

BookFlix is a new online literacy resource that pairs classic video storybooks with related nonfiction eBooks to build a love of reading and learning. The engaging way to link fact and fiction, BookFlix reinforces early reading skills and introduces children to a world of knowledge and exploration.

Chilton Library

Chilton is a name that mechanics and do-it-yourselfers have depended on for many years for car repairs. This 24/7 online "mechanic" provides quick access to repair, maintenance and service information on the most popular cars, trucks, vans and SUVs on the road today.

Consumer Reports

This award-winning website contains information that enables consumers to make better purchasing decisions on the products they are shopping for. Also provides ratings and reviews, recommendations and buying advice.

Culture Grams

Doing a report on another country? Studying a foreign language and need to find out more about the culture? Need a recipe from another culture? Click for many age-appropriate, easy to use resources about the world's cultures with colorful pictures and videos.

Facts on File

Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive essays, videos, diagrams, definitions, biographies, and experiments.

FreedomFLIX

FreedomFlix is an online resource that transforms content from the highly successful Cornerstones of Freedom series into enhanced eBooks. All the eBooks are supported with related content and primary sources featuring videos, audio, images, and text. FreedomFlix helps students hone literacy skills, build knowledge of important historical topics, and cultivate 21st Century Skills through the inquiry process. And FreedomFlix aligns to the Common Core Standards by featuring multiple text types and a cross-curricular, nonfiction focus.

Freegal

Freegal provides downloadable music from Sony Music Entertainment, and includes music from labels like Arista, RCA and Columbia. Library card holders may download up to three mp3 songs per week (starting each Monday). The songs are DRM-free, which means you can play them on any device that plays mp3s: your iPod, your phone, that mp3 player in your junk drawer, it’s up to you!

Heritage Quest

Search ancestors in the Federal Census, find information on people and places in local and family histories, review selected records from the Revolutionary War Era and much more by clicking here.

Homeschool Resources

Click here to learn more about Homeschooling and resources available at the library and elsewhere to assist those considering Homeschooling as well as those currently involved in Homeschooling.

Hoopla

Hoopla is an innovative new service from your Muskingum County Library System that brings you thousands of movies, television, music, and audiobook titles. There are no costs or hassles. All you need is a library card and a web browser, phone, or tablet. The hoopla web site and mobile apps are easy to use. We make an unlimited number of copies available to you, so there are never any waiting lists. Start streaming immediately, or download a title to your phone or tablet for offline viewing later. We'll return it for you at the end of the lending period, so there are never any late fees.

Job and Career Accelerator

Job and Career Accelerator is the industry’s most comprehensive online job search system that puts job seekers on the Fast Track to getting hired.

Kids Search

Kids Search is an interface designed for students in grades K through 5. Kids Search provides elementary school students with an easy-to-use, graphically-appealing interface they can use to search databases.

LearningExpress Library

Preparing to take a test soon? Click here for a comprehensive, interactive online learning source of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help you succeed on the academic or licensing tests.

Live Homework Help

Students in Grades 4-12 can click here for a one-on-one tutor session between the hours of 2 and 9 PM.

Mango Languages

Mango Languages is an easy to use language learning tool which teaches users how to speak foreign languages as well as English as a second language. It uses a combination of audio and the written text to teach conversation.

MasterFILE Premier

Doing a research project or paper? Click here to find full text articles for more than 1,730 general periodicals covering such topics as general reference, business, education, health and much more.

Morningstar

Professionals and serious investors turn to Morningstar to help them make well-informed investment decisions. Morningstar has earned a reputation for reliable, independent and accurate information.

Newspaper Archive

Explore your family tree and discover your history at NewspaperARCHIVE.com, the world's largest online newspaper archive.

Newspaper Source

Looking for a newspaper article? Click here to find cover to cover full text articles for 25 national (US) and international newspapers.

Ohio Web Library

The Library through OPLIN's Ohio Web Library provides access to reference databases of general and special periodical materials, readers' advisory services, homework centers to assist students with research assignments, and legislative, historical, and archival materials and information

Points of View Reference Center

Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides the basis from which students can realize and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.

Price It! Antiques & Collectibles

Price It! Antiques & Collectibles is a comprehensive database for identifying, researching and pricing art, antiques and collectibles. Containing more than 23 million records, it’s a sophisticated, up-to-date, easy-to-use tool — whether you are a professional art appraiser or a budding collector.

Searchasaurus

More than 80 popular full-text elementary school magazines. Includes Funk & Wagnall’s New World Encyclopedia, American Heritage Children’s Dictionary, Encyclopedia of Animals, Provides thousands of photos, maps, flags and more, Lexile reading levels assigned to full-text articles

Small Engine Repair Reference Center

Do you have a motor or small engine to repair? Click here for small engine repair assistance, including: ATVs, commercial mowers, farm tractors, generators, motorcycles, marine (boats), outdoor power equipment, PWC (personal watercraft/jet ski), snowblowers, snowmobiles, tillers and other small engines.

Something About the Author

Something About the Author provides information on the lives and works of authors/illustrators for children and young adults. Considered the leading resource on authors and literature for children and young adults, it is used by students and teachers when completing class assignments, developing presentations and writing papers.

Student Resource Center

Are you a middle or high school student doing a research project? Click here for easy-to-use search tools highlighting such resources as biographies, maps and encyclopedias.

TrueFLIX

TrueFLIX is an online Whiteboard resource focusing on engaging science and social studies content for students in grades 3-5 that helps students hone literacy skills, build knowledge of subject-area content, and cultivate 21st Century skills through the inquiry process.

TumbleBooks

Listen and read along with TumbleBooks! TumbleBooks are animated, talking picture books that teach kids the joy of reading in a format they love. TumbleBooks are created taking picture books, adding animation, sound, music and narration to produce an electronic picture book you can read, or have read to you.

TumbleBookCloud

TumbleBookCloud is a whole new way to make digital stories together. Consider it collaborative digital storytelling. Photos. Videos. Music. Mix it all up together and then re-arrange it any way you like. Just by dragging and dropping, Tumblecloud makes it easy for you to tell stories your way, whether by yourself, or with a whole bunch of other people. See what happens when you make stories together.

TumbleBookCloudJunior

TumbleBookCloudJunior is geared towards Grades 3-8. An online collection of Tumble Books Cloud, Jr. - animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they'll love. TumbleBooks are created by adding animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books in order to produce an electronic picture book which you can read, or have read to you.

World Book Online

Use the World Book via your computer for the most up to date information.

Zanesville Times Recorder

Click here for easy to use, indexed access to the Times Recorder.

Zinio

Zinio is the ultimate app for magazine lovers, with digital magazines for iPad, iPhone, Android, Mac & PC. Click here, register online and begin to download magazines from your library system’s collection.

*